My experience of testing Mozilla Firefox

qmo

Well ! I am writing this blog after a long time.  Usually, we all get busy sometimes in our personal or professional life. Something like this happened to me also. I got busy with some personal schedules and couldn’t make it to share my experience of testing the Mozilla Firefox browser and as a contributor in the quality assurance team of Mozilla India Community. Doesn’t it sound good ? Yes, it does. Without having testing background and knowledge of testing, I got the opportunity to test Firefox browser. I believe that we have to start from the very beginning if we want to learn something properly. Nobody can get expertise on a skill or domain instantly.

I found the testing process very interesting and I really enjoyed it for the first time and that too, testing the most secured browser “Mozilla Firefox”. I tested the 50.0b3 (Firefox 50 Beta 3) version first time in the month of September, 2016. I have tested other versions as well and I also test it currently. Testing of any application and product can be automated but before trying your hands on automation tools like UFT(previous versions are named as QTP), Selenium, LoadRunner etc., you should have deep and strong knowledge of manual testing and its concepts. As I am sharing my testing experience, I need to tell “ What is Testing ?

What is Testing ?
In very simple words, Testing defines a set of activities that are performed to verify if the application under test (AUT) satisfies the end user requirements.

What is the purpose of testing ?
Testing is performed for a lot of purposes. Some of the purposes are :

  • To verify that all the requirements (both functional and non-functional) are implemented completely and correctly
  • To identify and fix defects before software deployment
  • To make the software predictable in behavior
  • To assess and improve the quality and so on …

Really, testing is an amazing and great domain to work for. After testing the Firefox, it developed a curiosity in me and interest in testing. Honestly,  I am looking forward to work in testing domain as an professional. A software testing professional plays a vital role in software development cycle. What I often think in my mind and motivates me is that, any software/product cannot be released or delivered in the market (to the end users) until and unless it has been tested by the QA team. QA team ensures the quality of product and checks its ability to satisfy the requirements specified by end user.

firefox_Vibhanshu Chaudhary

In Firefox 50.0b3 version, I tested a lot of functionalities like Pointer Lock API, WebM EME support for Widevine etc. I am providing a few videos in this post which I recorded during testing the functionalities of Firefox. I hope these videos can give you rough idea of how manual testing is performed. Unfortunately, I forgot to record my voice along with the actions that are performed in these videos. But you can get mostly everything if you go through videos carefully and attentively. For videos, click here.

vibhanshu_chaudhary_mozilla_QMO

Got recognized on QMO first time

It was really a good experience of testing an application for the first time. I would like to encourage you to dive into testing at least once. You would really love it. If you want to join Mozilla India QA team as a contributor and want to have hands on experience of testing the Firefox, you are most welcome and feel free to ping me at @vibhanshuchaudhary (Telegram Handle) .

Leave a Reply

